How do i call another movie clip to load up on mouse over

What action do i need to use on a button to load a movie clip i have created inside the same flash file? I want to create a sort of windows start menue idea. I have created the movie of the menu moving up and i need to trigger this by a button.

Thank you for any help you can give me

David

What do you mean load a movie clip? Is it on stage or just in your library?

What is your level of action script knowledge, on a scale of 1 - 10?

The movie clip is in my library. Would it be easier if it was already on the stage? I have no knowledge of action scripting, ive just started to learn flash about a month ago or so.

ok… quickly take a look at the basics I’ve set down at www.centerspin.com in my tutorial 101 section. It’s sparce I know, but I’m working on content. Page 7 or 8 in the 101 tutorial details where action script can be placed, and how to do that.

Read that then reply back here and I should have a write up for you.

Movie clips can be set up to go in two ways. Either you can drag and drop an instance of the movie clip to the stage, or you can use action script to initiate an instance of that clip during run time.

I suggest for you, since you’re new and it will require less work on your part that you do the former.

so… create a new blank layer on your timeline and select the first frame. Click and drag a copy of the movie clip to the stage, and let it go.

Open your “instance” panel. (menu option
“Window/Panels/Instance”.

Select the movie clip if it is not already selected, using the black arrow tool.

In the instance panel, type in a unique identifier for this movie clip. (Hint: it doesn’t technicaly have to be unique. You could use the same name as the movie clip has in the library, as long as you were only going to have one instance of this movie clip on the stage.)

As long as you’ve placed a

stop();