I can barely crawl. in desperate need of help with getting started in flash

well. flash and i arent getting along very well. i have very minimal experience with it. i have plenty of experience with dreamweaver and html and such. i feel the need to expand though and create a flash based website. i’ve printed out 100s of tutorials and have a good idea of what i want to do. I’m using flash mx 2004…my first main problem is i tried creating a drop-down menu (tutorial on site) and well it doesnt really work…at all. i dont know how to quite explain it…any help, tips, tricks whatever would be greatly appreciated…thanks

start simple. then grow. the more basic your first site is the easier it will be. then over time ad features.

very true. take it only 1 step at a time. even advanced developers get ahead of themselves and make silly mistakes and have to spend hours backtracking to find simple syntax errors.

your background in html is great and flash is a natural extension of your current abilities. even when tackling simple projects, i cannot stress enough the preproduction process/software engineering approach. write on paper what you want the application to do, do a flowchart, etc… then when you sit down to write the code it’ll be quick as you transfer English into code. believe me, the more you adhere to this approach the better off you’ll be.

and if you’re having problems with the dropdown menu you could either start again or post exactly what type of problem you’re having in this forum. the more exact and precise you are in this forum the better and quicker we’ll be able to help you.

welcome to flash. you’ll be just fine.

I personally always think of what I want to do with my website - if I don’t know how to do it, I look for tutorials on the subject, and ask for help on kirupa :wink: - I’m a lot more comfortable now, and its great because you don’t feel you’re learning tutorials which you may never use.

Hope that helps a little

Insomniac