IE4 Problems

I’m in the middle of redesigning my company’s homepage, and apparently when they made it there were some issues with IE4, layers and re-sizing. They weren’t too sure what they were though, as it was made by an outside agency. All we are sure of is that we have to run a detection, and load up one page if the browser is IE4, and another if it isn’t. :-\

Anyone have any ideas on what these problems could be? And I guess, more importantly, how on earth to get round them? :q:

When I was a webmaster, way back when, we had to do this because Netscape tended to reload the entire page when resized. My site was heavily dynamic, so reloading took an amazing amount of time (broadband was not very common in residential use).:-\

As far as IE4, it handles layers quite differently than Netscape, and the positioning of those layers could really make it ugly in the wrong browser:)

As to the work-around, I don’t know:(

that is why I don’t do a lot in layers:-\ but then again, with the stats I have just seen, less than 10% of your visitors will be on something other than IE 5-6…=)

if that is any consolation:P

Rev:elderly:

Yeah, according to our stats the number of people actually using IE4 is very low, but because we are a huge business, we have to cater for these people. It’s part of the design brief that will never change.

As it is I’m having a hard time convincing people that we should be designing for 1024 screen res as an optimum…

Well, I agree with them on the res. part…

over 60% of users are still on 800x600…:slight_smile:

Well IE handles layers using div tags with a z-index setting.

Netscape handles layers using actual layer tags. They can be an absolute pain.

My way of detecting browsing isn’t actually very advanced, but it seems to work for me…

<SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript">
<!--
if (document.all) { // IF IE
//SCRIPT HERE
}
else if (document.layers) { //IF NETSCAPE LESS THAN 6
//SCRIPT HERE
}
else if (document.getElementById) { //IF NETSCAPE 6+