Rollover Menu Animation

Hi,

I’ve had a good hunt through the forum for some help with a problem I’m having but I’ve been unable to find anything that works.

I’ve been asked to design a menu that rolls out from the side and has buttons which will point to a frame in a frameset. I’m an amateur at actionscript and after three days hunting tutorials, going through them, tearing my hair out after failure upon failure, I’m nearly ready to pack it in.

Can anyone help me out here? I’ve built the menu based on this following tutorial without success;

http://www.cbtcafe.com/flash/flyoutmenu/flyoutmenus.html

I’m not much of a coder and despite my efforts nearly all tutorials about animated rollovers/rollover menus has lost me.

Thanks
Jason Just

now i know how u feel reading and never seeming to understand cos i am the same. but try out this tut at flashkit. it helped me to see what was happening (or supposed to happen at least)

link

You can try this one too: http://www.computerarts.co.uk/tutorials/type/tutorial.asp?id=30426

It is very good.

pom :cowboy:

this is a working version of ur fla, i had to change the buttons cause i did not have much time to work on them. the thing is that this might not be the perfect way to do it, but it still works just the way it should. u might find the script a bit hard and complicated, so if u have any questions plz post them and i will try to explain them to u .

enjoy

Hi,

Thanks for the help guys. Exfusion, cheers for your work, it is much appreciated. I do have some questions as I’d like to one day be able to understand and implement actionscript like this.

1/ You have a large pale blue alpha box over the whole background, I assume this is the area that if the mouse rolls off the menu bar returns to its original position?