Seeking Advice on Learning JavaScript for Web Development

I’m new to the Kirupa forums and relatively new to web development. I’ve been focusing on learning JavaScript, and I’m looking for some advice and guidance from the experienced members here.

My Current Situation:

• HTML & CSS: I have a basic understanding of HTML and CSS and have built a few simple web pages.
  • JavaScript: I’ve started learning JavaScript, but I find some concepts challenging to grasp.
  • Projects: I’m working on a couple of small projects to practice, but I’m not sure if I’m on the right track.

Specific Questions:

1. Learning Resources: What are the best resources (books, websites, courses) for learning JavaScript, especially for beginners?
  2. Project Ideas: Can you suggest some beginner-friendly project ideas that will help me apply JavaScript concepts in a practical way?
  3. Common Pitfalls: What are some common mistakes beginners make when learning JavaScript, and how can I avoid them?
  4. Best Practices: What are some best practices for writing clean, efficient, and maintainable JavaScript code?
  5. Debugging Tips: Any tips or tools you recommend for debugging JavaScript code effectively?

What I’ve Tried So Far:

• Following online tutorials and completing exercises on sites like freeCodeCamp and Codecademy.
  • Building small projects like a to-do list and a simple calculator to practice JavaScript.
  • Reading JavaScript documentation and articles, but sometimes finding it overwhelming.

Hey! Welcome to the forums! First off it sounds like you are on the right track. Web development is a deep ocean lots to learn even to get the “basics” if you feel challenged, even overwhelmed that’s perfectly normal.