Simple effect but very difficult to make it

Hi,
I am a flash developer, but I just meet a very serious problem on my work. I need to develop a very simple flash that contain several input textboxes. But I need to play a short animation when the mouse is over any one of the textboxes.
How can I know the mouse is over a input textbox ??
Thank you for your help.
Catalas.

I’m a novice flash designer so I may be off the mark here, but it sounds to me like you should make the input box a button and have the “OVER” state load a movieclip.

That make sense? Leaving the rest of the button states empty…

Jay

Well you can’t create a button out of dynamic text so I recommend making it a movie clip and using…

_root.yourClip.onRollOver = function() {
	_root.yourAnimation.gotoAndPlay(1);
};

Add that into the frame, not on the movie clip.

yourClip = your movie clip with the textbox
yourAnimation = the animation you want played.

Hope this helps :slight_smile:

Actually MX has made it so that you can make dynamic text a button unlike the previous version, in Flash 5 this would have been impossible!

I tried making it a button, but it would just make the loaded text selectable.

Hmm, stupid me, does it work if you uncheck the selectable text box?

I was under the impression catalas was talking about “input textboxes”, as in a form.

I don’t know that you can nest a form input into a button, but it would seem so…

Anybody know about multiple rollovers using dynamic images??? I’m stuck…

Jay

Ah yes, he did say imput. I must have skipped over that. Sorry

It worked for me, I made an input box with a variable ‘input_text’ and turning it into a button and placed this code on the button, and make sure you button has a hit state:

**on(rollOver) {
    input_text = "HELLO!";
}**

Hi,