Some new design ideas!

Related to my comment earlier around the site’s poor navigation, I figured I’d start taking some stabs at coming up with some design changes to address that and some of the long list of minor updates that I haven’t gotten around to.

Here is what the TOC in the left-rail could look like:

2 Likes

Looks good… :slightly_smiling_face:

I’m a big fan of MDN’s nav.

You could even do the MDN double with articles/ topics on the left, subtopics on the right…

I reckon it would be cool to do a whole bunch of micro animations for the icons…
kirupa.com still has a Super Nintendo feel about it…

Great idea about the micro animations! That’s always been on my todo list but just always falls below creating new content.

The subtopics on the right is an interesting choice. Let me see what that can look like without looking too cluttered.

I like it!
Very clean.
As a designer, I can’t resist giving some feedback :slight_smile:
I would just give it a slight (1rem) margin to the left and right of the main content. To let it breath a bit more and, this way, giving it more importance and readability, to it and to it’s neighbors.
And maybe a very soft fill on the left sidebar (maybe a #eee?).

1 Like

That is great feedback, @ridesirat :slight_smile:

I agree with you about the increased margin. Let me try to make some of these changes tonight and share back for all of us to look at.

In the spirit of just making changes live, here is an in-progress version of a page with the TOC: A Visual Introduction to Arrays

@ridesirat - I adding a bit more spacing than 1rem. Thoughts?

Here is a screenshot in case I break something between now and when you all see it:

There are a handful of critical features still missing:

1. Header is broken on mobile
  2. The left nav with the TOC needs to be fixed height with a scrollbar