Teaching Middle Schoolers HTML, CSS and Javascript

Hi,

I have followed this site for years, but only recently joined this forum. I hope I can contribute at least a small percentage.

I am in my second year of teaching middle school students (6-8) coding. Instead of code.org or codehs.com I opted to go a different direction by providing web server space for each student, teach them codeanywhere, and develop lesson plans as I go. At the beginning of the each semester students have zero knowledge, so I did alot of experimenting the past two years on best ways to convey basic concepts. I am now seeking feedback and different viewpoints on what’s really important and not so important. For example I have a lesson plan in which students create a face or character builder. Here is one of the results: a fish builder!

http://muskiecoding.com/gold5/sophiao/css5.html

As you can see in the code, students learned CSS, how create functions, call them with buttons, and basic DOM. They are only using what they have been taught.

My questions are: are they learning the right things? What should be changed? The students enjoy this so much more than the some of the guided online resources, but that shouldn’t be the only validation.

Kvapster

At this age, the biggest question I think really is this: are they having fun?

Them understanding web development or anything programming related is a bonus, and it looks like you hit it out of the park with your curriculum. I wouldn’t change a thing if they are able to follow along and create something in the end.

:slight_smile:

It’s an exploratory class, so I try to do things in a way so that there is something for everyone. For example, after having been exposed to the basics kids are given a choice to explore further CSS(with animation) or JavaScript, or both.

Here’s an example 6th grader’s project using CSS shapes-
http://muskiecoding.com/purple1/rexb/tractor.html

(left-top vs. translate…possible future topic?)