Text box questions

I have 2 dynamic text boxes that need to recall input from earlier in the movie. But the input boxes are buried like this:

MM
MC com_scrn
MC com_blt
INPUT problem
INPUT action

I used two dynamic text boxes named “comment1” and “comment2” to recall the input. Currently I have the following action in the frame:

comment1 = problem;
comment2 = action;

For some reason it isn’t working. Can anyone tell me how to reference those two text boxes?

your trying to reference “problem” and “action” that are inside the MC “input”, right?

if that’s the case, you have to let flash know precisely where those variables are, ie:

comment1 = input.problem;
comment2 = input.action;

for the paranoid programmer, preface input with _root. ; )

cheers.

just wondering, since im a beginner in some parts of AS, what does _root.; do?

_root. means, um … well, root. it’s the base level where everything starts from. like the equivalent to c:\ in dos or / in linux (or in flash4 for that matter).

so if _root. means the base directory, what would _parent. mean?

_parent is the location that the current timeline is in, take this for example:

A flash timeline with a movie clip called ‘A’ inside it and inside that clip there is another movie and its called ‘B’, and say I put this code in frame one of clip ‘B’ to control clip ‘A’:

gotoAndPlay(_parent.A, 1);