Yes is another walking problem. I AM A NEWB AT AS

thanks to anyone that is reading this.

ok this is what i have so far:

-mc called “jump”-dont know yet how many frames will be
-mc called “stand”-3 frames long
-mc called “walk”-24 frames long
-mc called “shooting”-10 frames long (dont know how many frames will be yet but lets assume)

now my question WHAT IS THE ACTION SCRIPT TO MAKE THIS THING WORK WELL. i have tried but the problem is that when i release the “right” or “left” key the “walk” mc keeps playing until it reaches the end.

and i swear I WILL make a tutorial about this cuse there isn’t really one that just teaches you just that. no hitTest no scrolling no nothing just how to make your hero in the game walk left right jump and shoot.
so please help me so i can help others also thanks a lot.

if you need any more information to help me out please let me know i have tried the little i know to get it to work and have come back with nothing.

hmm…

When I do anything like this, I like making one movie clip and having frame labels in it. For example, a movie clip called person with a labels called “standing”, “walking” and “jumping”. All of these would be looped (e.g. at the end of the walking sequence "gotoAndPlay(“walking”)).

That way I can say something like:

onClipEvent(keyDown) {
if (Key.isDown(Key.RIGHT)) {
// goto the walking sequence
this.gotoAndPlay(“walking”);
// make the guy face right
this._xscale = 100;
}
if (Key.isDown(Key.LEFT)) {
// goto the walking sequence
this.gotoAndPlay(“walking”);
// make the guy face left
this._xscale = -100;
}
if (Key.isDown(Key.UP)) {
// goto the jumping sequence
this.gotoAndPlay(“jump”);
}
}
onClipEvent(keyUp) {
this.gotoAndPlay(“standing”);
}

This would go in the guy’s actions and. Of coarse, this is just a rough outline.

Hope this helps a bit.