Couple of flash animation questions

Hi,

I’m trying to fade a bitmap picture into the stage from left to right. I have absolutely no idea how to even begin this. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Also… is there any way to edit a bitmap picture using flash? I tried to use the eraser tool to erase some stuff on my bitmap image and nothing seems to erase. Also… can you change the “pressure” of the erase tool like you can in photoshop?

Sorry… I’m pretty new to flash. thanks!

get your image and conver it to a sumbo by pressing F6 then make it fade by using the Alpha effect from the instance pannel. Edit>instanace, hope that amde sense.

Unless you mean that you want the fade in to start from the left and move across the picture.
In that case you do this.

1. Place the picture on the stage.

2. Make a new layer.

3. In this layer place a square box shape, without any stroke… so just the fill.

4. Open your “fill” panel, And your “mixer” panel.

5. Select the square in the stage… in your fill panel, use the pull down menu to make your fill a linear gradient.

6. Now, you should see two tabs… probebly gray and white… but I’m not sure… they describe the colors that make up the gradiant. Select the left one by clicking carefuly on that tab, in the color box to the right of the “fill” panel, select the same color as the background color of the movie. Do the same for the right hand tab.
    (Note: If you accidentaly make a new tab, just grab it and drag it off the area… it will disapear.)

7. Now, with the right hand tab still selected, look at your “mixer” panel. Select the fill button if it’s not already selected. On the right side of THIS panel, there is an alpha level controler. grab and slide it all the way down to 0 alpha.