Newbie over his head

Hey this is a really helpfull site you have here, but i’m quite new to flash, did a bit of work a couple of years ago but nothing major, now im back and trying to create a menu… I’ve done all the relevant tutorials but cant put the neccessary components together, here is what im trying to create using Flash MX.

A sidebar Menu with a Button, when the user moves the mouse over the button it moves to the right, to reveal a word, which is a link to the webpage on my site. - I know I can get this effect with the “Advanced Rollover” tutorial but I just cant seem to make it work - if anyone can explain, or lead me in the right direction it would be greatly appreciated, thnx.

• John

Hey, I attached a .zip file with what I think you are trying to do.

There is probably an easier, more efficient way to do it then what I did, but my mind is not thinking straight today with AS.

I hope this at least points you in the right direction though. If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to ask:)

OK thx very very much for your file, and yes thats exactly what I want to do, i’m not an expert at disecting files to find out how it was done, but I’ve done as much as I can, I can figure out the “movie” part, that is the block moving from left to right and back again. However i’m still struggling when it comes to putting that movie over my “button”, and turning my button into a hyperlink. I also don’t understand how, or why there is a page with “Up, Over, Down and Hit” in Layer 1 for the “button”. If I can just understand the basics of how it all works I’ll be able to do it, if there are any tutorials that are relevant I wont have to take up your time :slight_smile: - thx for your help tho m8

• John

Ok, I will see if I can explain my file.

<B>Layer “Actions”</B> -

//mouse over movie clip to reveal button
_root.slideMc.onRollOver = function() {
	this.gotoAndPlay(2);
};

This allows the movie clip to slide away when your mouse rolls over it.