Windows 2000 Pro Logon Problems

Hey guys :slight_smile:

I’m at my uncle’s house, and he’s having some problems using Windows 2000 Professional and Windows XP. The computer that has Windows 2000 Professional on it can access the XP computer without any problem, but the XP computer can’t access the Windows 2000 computer. It gives a message screen with user and password fields.

There are three users on the 2000 Pro computer: Administrator, ASPNet and Guest. The only one used is the administrator, and it has no password. So I figured I would enter user name “Administrator” and password none as login for the 2000 Pro computer while trying to access it via LAN, but it didn’t work.

I’ve never used Win2000 Pro before, so can anyone help me where to change the settings so the XP computer can access the Win2000 Pro computer without having to type in passwords or selecting users or whatever. Passwords aren’t cared about, neither are users.

I get this problem with my home network… it sucks.

I think it’s probably something to do with network config… on my machine, it gives an error if you try to use any user/password combination, even valid ones :-\

Same here. I’m sure the combination Administrator / none is corrrect, but no go :frowning:

Everytime I goto a LAN there’s always people with Win200 that can’t allow others to access their computer because of this problem! Annoying!
I have solved it once, but I forgot how :frowning:
(hmmmm… exactly how much did that line help… ?)

Have you tried setting up a new useraccount with a new password and loging in with that?

Hmm… By the way, when does the error appear? Are you trying to access a shared folder or just the computer in My Networkplaces ?

can you make a new user in the both with the same name and the same password… i think it’ll work… i’d the same problem but in 2 XP… :h:

hope it helps

*Originally posted by Kalliban *
**Have you tried setting up a new useraccount with a new password and loging in with that? **