Help for slow flash site

Hey everyone, I am a newbie in this forum. recently i did a flash site, www.alfidino.com . it works but its slow. I use loadmovienum to load swf files for the different sections in the site. each of the flash movie is abt 5mb . i find that its slow for the flash to load. fyi, i did use a preloader and didnt appear in the flash too. can anyone tell me what is the problem?

First, when the site did come up I would say that it looks very nice. Obviously you put some time and effort into it.

But you are, of course, correct. It took like 50 seconds for it to load. Most users (as you obviously know) will not wait that long, especially without at least a preloader.

A couple of thoughts (without having the benefit of seeing your fla file) would include:

1.) The bigger in size the pieces of your website are the longer it can take to load. That is kind of always the juggling act in doing websites. The size of how we would like it to be (in a perfect world) versus the reality of how long it takes to load.

For example: the book effect you have for your portfolio is a nice idea (one which I am not suggesting you eliminate). But it takes up the whole size of the website. Yet I saw a lot of white space on the pages of the book which suggests, to me, that the whole size of the book could be made smaller by tightening the items of each page closer together.

2.) The size of your website itself is - at 1000 x 700 - pretty big. A website of smaller dimensions (say 780 x 550) can also lower the load time.

A couple of thoughts. Juggling what we would like to see versus the reality of how long it might take to load is a tough one.