What do front-end developers do every day?

Hello,

I am an aspiring front-end developer and I have been doing it as a hobby for a while now but have never had a full-time front-end developer job.

I was wondering what the day-to-day looks like for a front-end developer/engineer and also if this type of role changes depending on the size of the company (startup vs big tech company for example).

Thanks!

1 Like

This is something I think @senocular, @travis, @steve.mills, and @tbo may have a lot to share on! :stuck_out_tongue:

1 Like

Great question @sephorus. I work for a very small agency, there are only about 20 people so I imagine the experience would be much different at a large company. In my job I am extremely autonomous most of the project’s I’ve worked on has been either by myself or with one or two other developers. I have a few meetings weekly with project managers, sometimes with clients but other than that it’s 100% self directed work. I’m very lucky in my situation, I think I have more flexibility and autonomy in my role then is typical.

Project managers work directly with clients then create tasks for developers which I estimate. After the feature gets approved I just start working on it. If it’s a project I’m working on with other developers I will submit pull requests which are reviewed by at least one other dev. If it’s a project I’m doing my self I generally merge pull requests on my own after thoroughly testing a feature, sometimes if something dosen’t feel quite right or if the feature is pretty big I will loop in another dev for a second set of eyes. I think this would be drastically different at a bigger agency/company. Larger companies have whole teams dedicated to testing and QA so your pull requests would be reviewed by far more people and take a bit longer to be merged into production.